Oficiální anglická verze rezoluce č.5A a č.6A

Schváleno na GA IAU v Praze dne 24.srpna 2006

Resolution 5A: "Definition of 'planet' "

The IAU therefore resolves that "planets" and other bodies in our Solar System be defined into three distinct categories in the following way:

- (1) A "planet" is a celestial body that (a) is in orbit around the Sun, (b) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape, and (c) has cleared the neighbourhood around its orbit.
- (2) A "dwarf planet" is a celestial body that (a) is in orbit around the Sun, (b) has sufficient mass for its self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that it assumes a hydrostatic equilibrium (nearly round) shape², (c) has not cleared the neighbourhood around its orbit, and (d) is not a satellite.
- (3) All other objects³ except satellites orbiting the Sun shall be referred to collectively as "Small Solar-System Bodies".

¹The eight planets are: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. ²An IAU process will be established to assign borderline objects into either dwarf planet and other categories.

³These currently include most of the Solar System asteroids, most Trans-Neptunian Objects (TNOs), comets, and other small bodies.

Resolution 6A: "Definition of Pluto-class objects"

The IAU further resolves:

Pluto is a "dwarf planet" by the above definition and is recognized as the prototype of a new category of trans-Neptunian objects.

Zdroj: http://www.iau2006.org/mirror/www.iau.org/iau0603/index.html